22.05

Germany Calendar

Holidays, School vacations, Non-working days

Summer holidays in Germany in June, July, and August

German holidays in summer: state, folk, religious holidays with celebration dates by years 2023, 2024, 2025.


Many holidays in Germany have sliding dates that change every year, so the exact dates need to be checked separately for each year. In the following tables, you will find dates and a brief description for each celebration. State holidays in Germany, the schedule of school vacations in Germany can be found on separate pages of our website.

List of holidays

  Summer holidays in Germany in June 2024

Date The name of the holiday Name in German
5 June 2024 (We) Saint Boniface's Feast Day Tag des heiligen Bonifatius
The Memorial Day of the missionary and reformer of the church, who is considered the apostle of all Germans.
7 June 2024 (Fr) Feast of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus Herz-Jesu-Fest
The Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Christ in the Catholic Church is associated with reverence for the heart of Jesus as a symbol of his love. The symbols of the holiday are a heart and a cross. The tradition is associated with the cult of the Heart of Christ, common in the Middle Ages, and mysticism.
24 June 2024 (Mo) St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day Johannistag
The celebration in honor of the birth of John the Baptist (Midsummer Night). A lot of superstitions and mysticism are connected with it: making a fire, opening the door to the fairy world, wreaths or crowns, night walks, etc.
29 June 2024 (Sa) SS. Peter and Paul Day Peter und Paul
The Memorial Day of the two apostles of Jesus Christ Peter and Paul, who played a special role in early Christianity. Celebrated especially in Bavaria; for the holiday a fire is made (in German: Petersfeuer) and, as is customary, a straw doll is burned.

  Summer holidays in Germany in July 2024

Date The name of the holiday Name in German
25 July 2024 (Th) St. James's Day Jakobstag
The day of remembrance of James, an Apostle of Jesus Christ. A pilgrimage to Spain, Santiago de Compostela, is connected with it. The James path also runs through a number of German cities. Harvesting of wheat and rye begins on St. James's Day, and insome places festivities are held.

  Summer holidays in Germany in August 2024

Date The name of the holiday Name in German
8 August 2024 (Th) Augsburg Peace Festival Augsburger Friedensfest
A public holiday held only in the city of Augsburg. A Peace Festival in memory of the peace agreement and the reparation of the religious situation between Protestants and Catholics. At the festival, a peace prize is awarded, various events dedicated to peace are held, a children's drawing of the holiday is elected.
10 August 2024 (Sa) St. Lawrence's Day Laurentiustag
The Memorial Day of St. Lawrence. Falls of meteorites during this period of summer are called Tears of Lawrence (in German: Laurentiustränen). Processions of cooks are associated with the holiday, since Lawrence is considered their protector. There are coats of arms and brotherhoods of St. Lawrence. It is also associated with the Cranger Kirmes folk festival in the city of Herne.
15 August 2024 (Th) Assumption of the Virgin Mary Mariä Himmelfahrt
The celebration of the Ascension of Mary, mother of Jesus Christ. The celebration uses bouquets of herbs and flowers. During the period of 30 days after the holiday, pilgrimages sometimes take place.

Explanation of the table:

Holidays in winter, Holidays in spring, Holidays in autumn

RU-GELD.DE Team

Last updated:

Summer holidays in Germany in June, July, and August 2023, 2024, 2025

Summer holidays in Germany in June, July, and August 2023, 2024, 2025



Follow us on
Calendar
By year
Orthes

25.06

Deutschland-Kalender

Feiertage, Schulferien, Wochenenden

Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im Juni, Juli und August

Deutsche Feiertage im Sommer: staatliche, Volksfeste, religiöse Feiertage mit Feierdaten nach Jahren 2023, 2024, 2025.


Viele Feiertage in Deutschland haben variable Daten, die sich jedes Jahr ändern, daher müssen die genauen Daten jedes Jahr separat überprüft werden. In den folgenden Tabellen finden Sie Daten und eine kurze Beschreibung für jede Feier. Gesetzliche Feiertage in Deutschland, Ferienplan für Schulferien in Deutschland finden Sie auf separaten Seiten unserer Website.

Verzeichnis der Feiertage

  Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im Juni 2024

Datum Name des Feiertags Name des Feiertags auf Englisch
5. Juni 2024 (Mi) Tag des heiligen Bonifatius Saint Boniface's Feast Day
Gedenktag des Missionars und Reformators der Kirche, der als Apostel aller Deutschen gilt.
7. Juni 2024 (Fr) Herz-Jesu-Fest Feast of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
Das Fest des Heiligen Herzens Jesu Christi in der katholischen Kirche, ist mit der Verehrung des Herzens Jesu als Symbol seiner Liebe verbunden. Die Symbole des Feiertags - ein Herz und ein Kreuz. Die Tradition ist mit dem Kult des Herzens Christi verbunden, der im Mittelalter und in der Mystik verbreitet wurde.
24. Juni 2024 (Mo) Johannistag St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day
Feier zu Ehren der Geburt von Johannes dem Täufer (Ivan Kupala). Viele Aberglauben und Mystik sind damit verbunden: Lagerfeuer, die Tür zur Märchenwelt wird geöffnet, Kränze oder Kronen, Nachtwanderungen usw.
29. Juni 2024 (Sa) Peter und Paul SS. Peter and Paul Day
Gedenktag der beiden Apostel Jesu Christi, Petrus und Paulus, die im frühen Christentum eine besondere Rolle spielten. Es wird besonders in Bayern gefeiert. Ein Lagerfeuer (deutsch: Petersfeuer) wird auf einem Fest angezündet und eine Strohpuppe wird verbrannt.

  Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im Juli 2024

Datum Name des Feiertags Name des Feiertags auf Englisch
25. Juli 2024 (Do) Jakobstag St. James's Day
Gedenktag des Apostels Jesu Christi Jakobs. Mit ihm verbunden ist eine Pilgerreise nach Spanien, Santiago de Compostela. Der Jakobsweg führt auch durch eine Reihe deutscher Städte. Am Jakobstag werden Weizen und Roggen geerntet und an einigen Orten Feste gefeiert .

  Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im August 2024

Datum Name des Feiertags Name des Feiertags auf Englisch
8. August 2024 (Do) Augsburger Friedensfest Augsburg Peace Festival
Feiertag nur in der Stadt Augsburg. Friedensfest zum Gedenken an das Friedensabkommen und die Wiederherstellung der religiösen Situation zwischen Protestanten und Katholiken. Auf dem Fest wird der Friedenspreis verliehen, es finden verschiedene Veranstaltungen, dem Frieden gewidmet sind statt, eine Kinderzeichnung des Feiertags wird ausgewählt.
10. August 2024 (Sa) Laurentiustag St. Lawrence's Day
Tag zum Gedenken des Heiligen Laurentius. Meteoritenfälle in dieser Sommerperiode werden als Laurentiustränen bezeichnet. Umzüge von Köchen sind mit dem Feiertag verbunden, da Laurentius als ihr Beschützer gilt. Es gibt Wappen und Bruderschaften des Heiligen Laurentius. Mit ihm verbunden ist auch das Cranger Kirmes Volksfest in Herne.
15. August 2024 (Do) Mariä Himmelfahrt Assumption of the Virgin Mary
Feier der Himmelfahrt Marias, Mutter Jesu Christi. Zur Feier werden Sträuße aus Kräutern und Blumen verwendet. An einigen Orten finden 30 Tage nach der Feier Pilgerfahrten statt.

Erklärung zur Tabelle:

Feiertage im Winter, Feiertage im Frühling, Feiertage im Herbst

RU-GELD.DE Team

Aktualisiert:

Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im Juni, Juli und August 2023, 2024, 2025

Sommerfeiertage in Deutschland im Juni, Juli und August 2023, 2024, 2025



Soziale Netzwerke
Kalender
Nach Jahren
Sonstiges