22.05

Germany Calendar

Holidays, School vacations, Non-working days

Celebrating the Twelfth-day in Germany: dates, celebration, conventional congratulations, greetings, traditions and customs on the Twelfth-day

On this page you will find a description of the Twelfth-day festivities in Germany. Celebration dates by year, customs and traditions common for Germany on the Twelfth-day, a description of the origin, congratulations & greetings.


  Dates for the Twelfth-day celebration in Germany

The date of the Twelfth-day celebration in Germany remains unchanged every year and falls on 6 January.

The Twelfth-day celebration date in Germany:
Saturday 6 January 2024 .

Below is a list of dates for celebrating the Twelfth-day in Germany by year, provided that in previous and subsequent years the present practice and time of the holiday celebration is preserved:

  Other names of the holiday

Holiday name in German: Heilige Drei Könige.

Other names for the Twelfth-day in Germany:

  Holiday status in the territory of Germany

The holiday is an official extra non-working day only in the following federated states (lands) of Germany:

  Wishes and congratulations, greetings on the Twelfth-day in Germany

  Description of the Twelfth-day celebration: customs and traditions:

Epiphany or the Feast of the Three Kings is a religious feast that in modern times refers to three events , described in the Gospels and associated with Jesus Christ: his birth, the coming to him of the Magi from the East, and his baptism. Although these events did not take place at the same time, or even the same year, this celebration combines them all. In Catholic and Evangelical theology, this feast is called "Epiphany," which means "appearanceб manifestation" and refers to the appearance of Christ into the world. This feast is always accompanied with pictures of the newborn Christ in the presence of his mother, Joseph, and the three kings. See below for information about the feast origins.

Earlier on this feast, children and adults wore the Magi costumes, took a star made for the feast, and walked from house to house; they told the Gospel story, sang a song, and collected gifts. This tradition continues to this day, with gifts accepted as sweets and money for themselves and children from poor families. In connection with this holiday, performances are played out in the theatre or puppet theatre, as well as in churches and are associated with the arrival of the Magi from the East.

Over time, this holiday has developed various customs and traditions, such as processions on the eve of the celebration to scare away evil spirits, and in some countries on this day a good fairy comes in through the fireplace chimney bringing gifts to the children.



  The origin of the Twelfth-day holiday

The origin of the celebration dates back to the III - IV century AD. Although it is based on stories from the Gospels, it does not anyway correspond to them exactly. The Magi or astrologers, rather than kings, came to Jesus; their number is not named in the Bible, there is no reason to believe they were three, nor are they mentioned by name. Furthermore, there are grounds for believing that they came many months after the birth of Christ, not on the night of his birth. So the celebration is based rather more on legend than on the evangelical narrative. Originally the feast was introduced in honour of Christ's birth, and later, when the official holiday of Christmas was established on December 25 (interestingly, combined with or even adopted from paganism holiday of the sun rebirth), Epiphany has become an official holiday in honour of Christ's baptism and the memory of the Three Magi.

  Photos, pictures for the holiday

To enlarge and view the picture, click on it with the mouse button.


RU-GELD.DE Team

Last updated:



Follow us on
Calendar
By year
Orthes

17.06

Календарь Германии

Праздники, школьные каникулы, выходные дни

Празднование Праздника трех королей в Германии: даты, празднование, принятые поздравления, традиции и обычаи в Праздник Трёх Королей

На данной странице вы найдете описание Праздника трех королей в Германии. Даты празднования по годам, обычаи и традиции, принятые в Германии на Праздник Трёх Королей, описание происхождения, поздравления.


  Даты празднования Праздника трех королей в Германии

Дата празднования Праздника трех королей в Германии остается неизменной каждый год и приходится на 6 января.

Дата празднования Праздника трех королей в Германии:
Суббота 6 января 2024 года.

Далее следует список дат празднования Праздника трех королей в Германии по годам, при условии, что в предыдущие и последующие годы сохраняется сегодняшний порядок и время празднования праздника:

  Другие названия праздника

Название праздника на немецком языке: Heilige Drei Könige.

Другие названия Праздника трех королей в Германии:

  Статус праздника на территории Германии

Праздник является официальным дополнительным выходным днем только в следующих землях Германии:

  Пожелания и поздравления в Праздник Трёх Королей в Германии

  Описание празднования Праздника трех королей обычаи и традиции:

Эпифания или Праздник Трёх Королей - это религиозный праздник, который в наше время относят сразу к трем событиям, описанным в Евангелиях и связанным с Иисусом Христом: его рождение, приход к нему астрологов с Востока и крещение. Хотя данные события не происходили в одно и тоже время, даже в один и тот же год, данное празднование объединяет их все. В католическом и евангелическом богословии данный праздник носит название "Эпифания", что в переводе означает "явление" и относится к явлению Христа в мир. Этот праздник всегда сопровождается картинами новорожденного Христа в присутствии его матери, Иосифа и трех царей. Смотрите ниже информацию о происхождении праздника.

Ранее на этот праздник дети и взрослые одевались в костюмы волхвов, брали сделанную для этого праздника звезду и шли от дома к дому; они рассказывали евангельскую историю, пели песню и собирали подарки. Данная традиция продолжается до сих пор, в качестве подарков принимаются сладости и деньги для себя и детей из бедных семей. В связи с данным праздником разыгрываются представления в театре или кукольном театре, а также в церквях, связанные с приходом волхвов с Востока.

В течение времени данный праздник оброс различными обычаями и традициями, например, шествия в канун празднования для отпугивания злых духов, а в некоторых странах в этот день через камин в гости заходит добрая фея и приносит детям подарки.



  Происхождение праздника Праздника трех королей

Происхождение празднования относят к III - IV веку нашей эры. Хотя оно основано на сюжетах из Евангелий, все же оно не соответствует им в точности. К Иисусу пришли волхвы или астрологи, а не короли; их число не названо в Библии, нет основания считать, что их было три, также они не названы по имени. Кроме того, есть основания полагать, что пришли они много месяцев после рождения Христа, а не в ночь его рождения. Т.о. празднование больше основано на легендах, чем на повествовании Евангелий. Первоначально праздник был установлен в честь рождения Христа, а затем, когда был установлен официальный праздник Рождества 25 декабря (кстати, совмещенный или даже перенятый из язычества праздник возрождения солнца), Эпифания стала официальным праздником в честь крещения Христа и памяти о трех волхвах.

  Фотографии, картинки к празднику

Для увеличения и просмотра картинки, нажмите на нее кнопкой мышки.


RU-GELD.DE Team

Последнее обновление:



Мы в социальных сетях
Календарь
По годам
Разное