19.07

Germany Calendar

Holidays, School vacations, Non-working days

Celebrating the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day in Germany: dates, celebration, conventional congratulations, greetings, traditions and customs on the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day

On this page you will find a description of the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day festivities in Germany. Celebration dates by year, customs and traditions common for Germany on the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day, a description of the origin, congratulations & greetings.


  Dates for the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day celebration in Germany

The date of the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day celebration in Germany remains unchanged every year and falls on 24 June.

The St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day celebration date in Germany:
Monday 24 June 2024 .

Below is a list of dates for celebrating the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day in Germany by year, provided that in previous and subsequent years the present practice and time of the holiday celebration is preserved:

  Other names of the holiday

Holiday name in German: Johannistag.

We are not aware of any other names for the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day in Germany.

  Holiday status in the territory of Germany

St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day is not an extra non-working day in Germany.

  Wishes and congratulations, greetings on the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day in Germany

No information available.

  Description of the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day celebration: customs and traditions:

The birthday of St. John the Baptist is celebrated in many European countries, but in Germany it is not a public holiday, nor is it a day off from work. For information on the origin of the holiday, see the page below. The following traditions and customs are associated with this holiday.

Bonfire on the Day of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist

The night of June 23-24 (in German: Johannisnacht). plays a special role in the holiday. On this night, traditionally, bonfires are kindled (in German: Johannisfeuer, Sonnwendfeuer), young people jump over the fire. Previously, this ritual used to be believed to improve fertility, and the family, whose member jumped the highest over the fire, would get the richest harvest. Campfire dances also take place. The bonfire of St. John the Baptist is believed to ward off evil spirits, diseases and misfortunes from people and pets. Sometimes a straw doll is burned at the stake.

Elves and gnomes, fireflies, mermaids

For a long time, the feast of St. John the Baptist has been associated with a fairy world and magic, on the St. John Nativity night, mountains containing treasures open up, and you can also see elves and gnomes; the sound of bells is heard in the seas, people can understand the language of animals, magical light from fireflies (in German: Johanniswürmchen) can be seen in the forest, herbs and plant roots receive healing powers, etc.

Wreath or crown of St. John (in German: Johanniskrone)

This crown is made from tree branches and greenery, decorated with eggs, roses and other flowers and is hung outside. Earlier, dances were held around it in the evening. Elsewhere in Europe, John's crowns or wreaths are let float down the river.

Night festivities

On the Midsummer Night (St. John the Baptist feast), people take walks in the forest with lanterns in search of fireflies and for animal watching.

Other customs and traditions

In different places of Germany and other parts of Europe, other customs and traditions are practiced on Midsummer Day, for example: decorating fountains and celebrating by the fountains, making a hot John's cake (in German: Johanniskuchen), collecting herbs and flowers (bouquet of John), bathing in rivers and lakes (in German: Johannisbad), equestrian procession and others.



  The origin of the St. John the Baptist’s Feast Day holiday

John the Baptist (or the Precursor) was a Jewish prophet who baptized repentant people in Judea, prior to the Jesus Christ preaching. According to the Bible, John the Baptist is six months older than Jesus Christ, so his Nativity is celebrated six months earlier than the Nativity of Christ.

The traditions and customs of this holiday have nothing to do with St. John the Baptist himself. Since the holiday falls on the beginning of summer (the beginning is considered June 21 - the day with the longest daylight hours), numerous pagan traditions and rituals associated with the summer onset and the solstice were timed to coincide with St. John the Baptist Day.

  Photos, pictures for the holiday

To enlarge and view the picture, click on it with the mouse button.

Bonfire on the night of the St. John the Baptist Nativity (Johannestag): the most famous custom with dancing and jumping over fire

Bonfire on the night of the St. John the Baptist Nativity (Johannestag): the most famous custom with dancing and jumping over fire


RU-GELD.DE Team

Last updated:



Follow us on
Calendar
By year
Orthes

23.06

Календарь Германии

Праздники, школьные каникулы, выходные дни

Празднование Иванова дня в Германии: даты, празднование, принятые поздравления, традиции и обычаи в Иванов день

На данной странице вы найдете описание Иванова дня в Германии. Даты празднования по годам, обычаи и традиции, принятые в Германии на Иванов день, описание происхождения, поздравления.


  Даты празднования Иванова дня в Германии

Дата празднования Иванова дня в Германии остается неизменной каждый год и приходится на 24 июня.

Дата празднования Иванова дня в Германии:
Понедельник 24 июня 2024 года.

Далее следует список дат празднования Иванова дня в Германии по годам, при условии, что в предыдущие и последующие годы сохраняется сегодняшний порядок и время празднования праздника:

  Другие названия праздника

Название праздника на немецком языке: Johannistag.

Другие названия Иванова дня в Германии:

  Статус праздника на территории Германии

Иванов день не является дополнительным выходным днем в Германии.

  Пожелания и поздравления в Иванов день в Германии

Информации нет.

  Описание празднования Иванова дня обычаи и традиции:

День рождения Иоанна Крестителя празднуется во многих Европейских странах, однако в Германии он не является государственным праздником и свободным от работы днем. Информацию о происхождении праздника смотрите ниже на странице. С этим праздником связаны следующие традиции и обычаи.

Костер на День рождества Иоанна Предтечи

Особую роль в празднике играет ночь с 23 на 24 июня (нем. Johannisnacht). В эту ночь по традиции разжигают костры (нем. Johannisfeuer, Sonnwendfeuer), молодежь прыгает через костер. Ранее считалось, что этот ритуал способствует плодородию, а семья, член которой прыгнул выше всех через огонь, получит самый большой урожай. Также устраиваются танцы у костра. Костер Иоанна Крестителя по традиции отгоняет злых духов, болезни и несчастья от людей и домашних животных. Иногда на костре сжигают соломенную куклу.

Эльфы и гномы, светлячки, русалки

С давних пор праздник Иоанна Крестителя связан со сказочным миром и волшебством, в ночь Рождества Иоанна открываются горы с сокровищами, а также можно увидеть эльфов и гномов; в морях слышан звук колоколов, люди могут понимать язык животных, в лесу можно увидеть волшебный свет от светлячков (нем. Johanniswürmchen), травы и корни растений получают целительную силу и т.д.

Венок или корона Иоанна (нем. Johanniskrone)

Данная корона делается из веток деревьев и зелени, украшается яйцами, розами и другими цветами и вывешивается на улице. Ранее вокруг нее вечером устраивались танцы. В других местах Европы короны Иоанна или венки пускают плыть по реке.

Ночные гуляния

В ночь Ивана Купала (Иоанна Крестителя) утраиваются прогулки в лес с фонарями в поисках светлячков и наблюдения за животными.

Другие обычаи и традиции

В разных местах в Германии и других частях Европы приняты и другие обычаи и традиции на Иванов День, например: украшение фонтанов и празднования у фонтанов, изготовление горячего пирога Иоанна (нем. Johanniskuchen), сбор трав и цветов (букет Иоанна), купания в реках и озерах (нем. Johannisbad), конная процессия и другие.



  Происхождение праздника Иванова дня

Иоанн Креститель (или Предтеча) - это иудейский пророк, который проводил крещение раскаивающихся в своих грехах людей в Иудее, до начала проповеднической деятельности Иисуса Христа. Согласно Библии, Иоанн Креститель старше Иисуса Христа на 6 месяцев, поэтому его Рождество празднуется на пол года раньше Рождества Христа.

Традиции и обычаи данного праздника никак не связаны с самим Иоанном Крестителем. Поскольку праздник приходится на начало лета (началом считается 21 июня - день с самым длинным светлым временем), к Дню Иоанна Предтечи были приурочены многочисленные языческие традиции и обряды, связанные с приходом лета и солнцестояния.

  Фотографии, картинки к празднику

Для увеличения и просмотра картинки, нажмите на нее кнопкой мышки.

Костер в ночь Рождества Иоанна крестителя (Johannestag): самый известный обычай с танцами и прыжками через огонь

Костер в ночь Рождества Иоанна крестителя (Johannestag): самый известный обычай с танцами и прыжками через огонь


RU-GELD.DE Team

Последнее обновление:



Мы в социальных сетях
Календарь
По годам
Разное